Updating Gradebook

Updating the grade book right now, mostly Math and some Social Studies. (Social Studies will be done in a little bit, much of the Math is completed).

Parents, you can now see more clearly which assignments your child is missing.  As I’ve said before, most students when you ask them will claim that they either ‘did the work’ or ‘did not’ or ‘left it at home’.  While I’m not necessarily disputing that the work was done, especially work that was completed with the guidance of a parent, as I mentioned many times before, for some reason the Homework is simply not making it’s way to me.

I have a very different homework policy than the majority of other teachers in the building.  While submitting your assignments on time is obviously important and reflective of a child taking personal responsibility and ownership of their education, I allow my kids ample opportunities to make-up homework/classwork within a reasonable time frame w/ only a minor penalty.  My goal, as I’ve said before, is that my students ultimately learn the concepts we are covering.  My philosophy is not to bury students in zeroes without giving them the chance to recover because from my experience, once their grades take a hit, many students in turn shut down and begin leaning towards giving up or losing faith, a mindset we are trying to avoid. 

I will let students know early next week (possibly Monday if we have the time) which assignments they are missing although you can certainly do that at home using Net Classroom.  In fact, I encourage you to do just that and make a list of the missed work that you see on that site because it will help me out greatly as I don’t have much time during the day to get this done.  If you can do that for me, it will make things a lot easier on my end to simply give students extra copies of the work they missed.  I can also spend more time teaching our lessons instead of losing an entire period or more going over something that is best done at home anyway.  

If you are having trouble with Net Classroom just let me know and I’ll take care of it for you, but again, it would really help me out if I didn’t have to print all the missing work and explain it to each student individually.  Long story short, if we can work together on this specific issue, I think it will make all our lives easier to manage.  

Thank you very much for all of your patience and help at home because without you, without loving parents that are involved deeply in their child’s education, we lose a great opportunity to reinforce the material and teach our children the character-building and important values of hard-work and personal responsibility.

Thanks again and if you have any questions feel free to let me know via text, phone call, or email.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

