Gradebook Updated 5/9 (2:09am)

  • Side note: these past two Mondays have been a bit more hyperactive and talkative than usual.  While today was definitely better than last week, I still have a handful of students walking around the room, sitting wherever they feel like it, doing art projects during lessons, etc., and while I take the materials away along w/ things like Fun Day and Recess, they don’t seem to care so I might have to resort to assigning sets of Presidents for the small few that have unfortunately been putting their needs above the right of others to learn.  More to the point, though, is that I have to constantly stop class in order to refocus my students because of this poor behavior.
  • Long story short, if your child comes home with a set or set(s) of President’s it’s because they have been highly disruptive to the class and/or not paying attention or missing excessive work.  Miss Tina Pimental has also been sitting n the back helping me out in a variety of ways, specifically she is keeping track of the students that are (and are not) paying attention during lessons, those that are talking, copying work, etc., so if you’re starting to see grades slide, I have enough indisputable data now to back up my end.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Hi, just a quick update…the gradebook for both classes is about 95% completed…when you leave comments on everyone’s work it often takes a little bit longer to get things returned 🙂

The Gods & Goddesses Quiz for whatever reason did not go as easily as I originally hoped, in fact, what I thought would be an easy A for everyone turned out relatively poorly and so I’m considering adding a curve to the score that is listed in the gradebook.  While some are low, I know, no one will get lower than a 50 and the kids who truly bombed will have the opportunity to earn some extra points in a different way.

Finally, I can start putting up grades for the Maps, both for the final product and as a group grade.  Overall, I was really impressed by the job that both classes were able to pull off despite the break and other class sessions scattered about for one reason or another.  My hope, however, is that in the future certain students, group-mates in this particular case, my hope is that we all recognize our faults and differences and learn to grow from them rather than to fight/argue/get upset over every little thing.  While most students did display adequate maturity and self-control, the ones that did not were the ones that participated the least and therefore will receive a grade that they earned…

  • all group members will fill out an anonymous card w/ questions so I can get a feel for who did what work on the assignment…this way it’s anonymous and so I expect the truth to get out of four people as opposed to one’s word against the others.

The next time I meet w/ both 5S and 5C we will discuss the maps, what went well, what did not, what we could do as a group to improve during our next assignment, a reflection of this nature is always important when a simple project such as this takes far too long to complete (this should have been done weeks ago).

For 5S, I really appreciate your hard work as your maps came in relatively on time and extremely accurate, colorful, and detailed with numerous physical features.  I’m so proud that you took your time, worked well together in groups that Mr. S set up so that the kids had to work w/ students aside from their immediate friends, a task that isn’t always easy when working w/ new people.

I’ll post a picture of the final results either tomorrow or Wednesday (I think I’m still waiting on one or two).  Aside from that, the grades for that assignment will go up this week.

Any other questions just let me know, thanks again!

Leave a Reply

